

GRIFFITH BUSINESS CHAMBER INCORPORATED Annual General Meeting Minutes (64th AGM) Wednesday 18TH October 2017 | 6.00pm | Griffith Leagues Club – Southside

AGM AGFNDA

Meeting declared opened at 6.15pm

1: PRESIDENT'S WELCOME

President Paul Pierotti welcomed everyone to 64th AGM. Paul thanked everyone for attending and to those who nominated. The current committee do their best to represent the business community and it's not always easy and went on to explain it's been a busy year and briefly summarised/highlighted the most important areas the committee have pursued over the past 12 months.

Nov 2016

-Actively involved and engaged with the School Merger meetings.

-Committee revised 10 Point Plan. These have become our vision and goals for Griffith to Thrive & Propser. Jan 2017

-GBC were successful in obtaining a \$25,000 Grant to fund our Regional Trust Mark. Dr Alvin Lee, head of Marketing at Deakin University along with Master students undertook approx 6 month community consultation and heavy engagement with the chamber to achieve a brand.

Feb 2017

-GBC put in a submission to the water enquiry

- GBC lobbied for live streaming of Griffith City Council Meetings and raised the idea to create a new separate Griffith Economic Board

-Pushed for a master plan of Griffith Base Hospital

April 2017

-Implemented a successful Annual Side Walk Sale

-Implemented a new sponsorship policy for GBC

-Conducted a meeting with Barnaby Joyce re: water, increase dam capacity

May 2017

-GBC engaged with Council regarding Griffith Airport -passenger airline review in particular security screening

June 2017

-GBC engaged with Council to extend Section 94A Levy moratorium, expressed concern about shortage of land release and telecommunications and fee's associated with land development

July 2017

-Rail meetings with various stakeholders re: Inland Route missing Griffith. This has become a huge area for GBC to pursue and meetings still continuing on a regular basis in Narrandera, Melbourne & Sydney

August 2017

-Contributed \$2,200 to Griffith Now Hiring Campaign- conducted through Griffith City Council -Actively assisted with Save our Griffith Base Hospital by speaking at rally, also participated in meetings with MLHD

September 2017

-After a long period to time <u>www.griffithbusinesschamber.com.au</u> was finally created. An informative website for the business community.

-Held an important meeting regarding Export to ASIA in conjunction with ARDA (Agribusiness Regional Development Association) The initiative is to create a group of regional producers to explore the level of demand for a logistics, cold store and export hub to Canberra International Airport or a suitable site for the export of consumables and perishable fresh produce from Central and Southern NSW to Asia.

October 2017

-Conducted a Meet the Candidates Q & A in conjunction with The Area News & 2MIA FM. -Meetings in Canberra with members following up from the ARDA presentation

2: APOLOGIES

Sonia Casanova Marg Couch Leah Walsh Robyn Salvestro Michael Wynne Leanne Austin Sue Mills Mike Neville Valerie Taffs Mayor John Dalbroi Chris Lanza Paul Pearsall Mark Zanatta Frank Franco Andy Armstrong

<u>3: MINUTES OF PREVIOUS AGM MEETING</u>

Moved: Pat Pittavino **Seconded:** Paul Snaidero Motion carried

4: BUSINESS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS AGM MINUTES

NIL

5: AGM FINANCIALS

Financials were made available to download on Griffith Business Chamber website prior to AGM.

Moved: Pat Pittavino Seconded: Denis Salvestrin Motion carried

6. ELECTION OFFICER BEARERS

Paul invited Inspector John Wadsworth as returning officer & declare all positions vacant.

President: Nominated: Paul Pierotti Seconded: Amanda Quarisa Elected

2 Vice-Presidents. (No vote required, as there are 2 Vice President Positions) Nominated: Joshua Nadzielski Seconded: Amanda Quarisa Elected Nominated: Katie Lucantonio Seconded: Paul Pierotti Elected

Treasurer: Nominated: Sky Han Seconded: Amanda Quarisa Elected

Secretary: Nominated: Amanda Quarisa Seconded: Paul Pierotti Elected

Public Officer remains unchanged: Dean Owen - elected

Additional General Committee Members. 6 positions in total . Received 5 nominations. Last nomination can be taken from the floor.

Nominated: Denis Conroy Seconded: Greg Murphy Elected

Nominated: Greg Collier Seconded: Amanda Quarisa Elected

Nominated: Pat Pittavino Seconded: Paul Pierotti Elected

Nominated: Christopher Sutton Seconded: Pat Pittavino Elected

Nominated: Kirsty Parish Seconded: Paul Pierotti Elected

Nominated from the floor: None. Position remains unfilled.

7. GENERAL BUSINESS

7.1: Lodgement of forms A12-T2 to Dept of Fair Trading:

Motion: Treasurer Sky Han to submit forms within time frame required by NSW Fair Trading and to report to committee when completed. Secretary Amanda Quarisa to also ensure any other documentation is up to date.

Moved: Amanda Quarisa Seconded: Sky Han

8. PRESIDENTS WELCOME

Returning officer to handed the chair to President Paul Pierotti to give Presidents Welcome.

Paul congratulated the new committee and thanked everyone for coming and invited attendee's to stay afterwards for a drink.

<u>9. CLOSE</u>

There being no further business, meeting closed 6.40pm