August 2018 President Report

Great news with progress on International Air Freight with Wellcamp Toowoomba’s John Wagner in due diligence with Narrandera/Leeton Council and airport.
Pat Pittavino and I have made trips to Sydney, Melbourne, Canberra and Narrandera to attend meetings on opening new freight opportunities. Griffith Business Chamber are founding members of “Regional exports Co-Op” together with Agribusiness Regional Development association, BEC Riverina and other key stakeholder groups across NSW. https://www.theland.com.au/story/5570840/narranderas-prospects-soar/?cs=4951
It is good news that Governments are offering more support with drought assistance to farmers.
It must also be understood that it is not only the directly affected farmers in this horrific drought that are struggling but also the regional businesses who rely on a largely agricultural economy base also need support. Remember to shop local & support your local businesses.
Unfortunately, it is not much better for irrigators, start of season General Security allocation is terrifyingly low for Murrumbidgee region at only 6% and temporary trade water is around $380 per MEG.
Thursday 23rd August 6pm at Griffith Exies Club is your chance to get together and meet with Member for Murray- Austin Evans for an open questions and answers forum focusing on Chambers 10 Point Plan.
Leeton will host The National Conference and AGM of Murray Darling Association from the 29th to 31st August. Some tough questions will need to be addressed by B.C.A at this forum.
It is difficult for members of our Community to take this so called Council representative group seriously.  This organisation seems to have been hijacked by South Australian Councils most of which are not even in the Murray Darling Basin. http://www.mda.asn.au/regions.aspx
REGION SEVEN Campbelltown City Council, City of Burnside, City of Holdfast Bay, City of Norwood Payneham & St Peter, City of Playford, City of West Torrens, Town of Walkerville, Adelaide City Council, City of Charles Sturt, City of Marion, City of Mitcham, City of Onkaparinga, City of Port Adelaide Enfield, City of Prospect, City of Salisbury, City of Tea Tree Gully, City of Unley, District Council of Yankalilla, The District Council of Mount Barker, Town of Gawler
REGION EIGHT District Council of Barunga West, Orroroo Council, District Council of Yorke Peninsula, Light Regional Council, Port Pirie Regional Council, The Barossa Council, The District Council of Mallala, The District Council of Mount Remarkable, The District Council of Peterborough, The Regional Council of Goyder, Whyalla City Council, Wakefield Regional Council, Adelaide Hills Council, Clare and Gilbert Valleys Council, District Council of the Copper Coast, Port Augusta City Council, Northern Areas Council
Councils in the Riverina Murray Joint Organisations are already refusing to pay the annual $6350 Mayor Chris Bilkey has said “The Murray River Council will no longer be a member of the Murray Darling Association”, but will instead use the newly-established Riverina and Murray Joint Organisation to advocate to governments on issues common to the region.  He adds the Swan Hill Rural City Council did not renew their membership for the association last financial year.
Councils Of B.C.A REGION NINE Seriously Need To Consider If M.D.A Are The Best Way For Basin Communities To Be Represented - Griffith City Council, Hay Shire Council, Hilltops Shire Council, Leeton Shire Council, Lockhart Shire Council, Murrumbidgee Shire Council, Narrandera Shire Council, Wagga Wagga City Council, Coolamon Shire Council, Cootamundra-Gundagai Shire Council, Junee Shire Council, Queanbeyan-Palerang Council, Snowy Valleys Council, Temora Shire Council, Weddin Shire Council, Yass Valley Council = 16 x $101,600 of RATE PAYER FUNDS


Paul Pierotti